Thanksgiving: Hope in the Time of Uncertainty

The tradition of Thanksgiving, the image we all have of some peaceful co-existence between Native Americans and the (Immigrant) Pilgrims, is based mostly on myth and a false understanding of history.

While the Pilgrims may have sought religious freedom, it turned out they were not willing to sanction such in others.

Yet, from the ashes of a rewritten and flawed interpretation of history, a solid tradition arose. It bodes well that something good can come from a falsehood.

I am a product of 1960’s America. It was, for a young boy, a great time to be alive. Despite the real threat of Soviet nuclear missiles, the rage of segregation, and the daily deaths of young men in Vietnam, it seemed to be an idyllic time.

In this period, I came to appreciate the Thanksgiving Holiday.

It was different than Christmas where the focus was on the holiday itself. In 1960, Christmas for me meant a photo with Santa and early to bed on Christmas Eve until the morning of Christmas and the presents under the tree. By 1970, I was past Santa. While the spirit of Christmas lived on within me, it was not the same.

But Thanksgiving was different.

It was a time for the family to gather. It was on this day that cousins, aunts, uncles, grandparents all found themselves together. It was a time where I came to know the great moments of being a family.

In the intervening years, I’ve come to know the true story of the Pilgrims and the Native Americans. That history was not all that my grammar school art and history projects portrayed.

But the idea of Thanksgiving lives on.

There is hope. In these uncertain moments before a tectonic shift in our government, there is a reason to be thankful.

This country, with all its flaws, still offers the opportunity for all to be free. We are not perfect, but we at least recognize that in ourselves. We make mistakes and we seek ways to correct them. Perhaps not as fast or in as direct a manner as some would have, but we try.

I am thankful for that.

I do not know what next Thanksgiving will be like, but I do believe there will be one. I believe between now and then we will make errors, make corrections, do more good than harm, and try to do what’s right.

I am thankful for that.

We have an opportunity to change America for the better. This election, if nothing else, has given us reason to pay attention. It has given us pause to consider what we want America to be.

I am thankful for that.

No matter how you voted, I believe most of you voted for what you believe to be the best chance for us to be a better country. If that turns out to be wrong, we will fix it. If it turns out to be right, we will learn from it.

I am thankful for that.

Unlike my partner in this blog, I am an optimist. I think things are never as bad as they seem and that we as a people are kind and good at heart. I am also a realist; these are uncertain times sure to challenge us all.

I am thankful for that, no matter how contradictory that may seem.

Americans are a different breed of people, We are not pedigree or purebred. We are a people, put together with spare parts, who have risen to be greater than anyone ever imagined.

I am thankful for that.

We are not perfect. We will never be perfect. We are not unified or homogeneous.  But it is our differences that offer us the most opportunity.

I am thankful for that.

It is our obligation to understand the truth. To always seek to better ourselves by offering others the chance to better themselves. Remember that and we will be here to celebrate Thanksgiving for generations of Americans to come.

Happy Thanksgiving.

About Joe Broadmeadow

Joe Broadmeadow retired with the rank of Captain from the East Providence Police Department after serving for 20 years. He is the author of the novels Collision Course, Silenced Justice, and Saving the Last Dragon available on Amazon in print and Kindle. Joe is working o the latest in a series of Josh Williams and Harrison "Hawk" Bennett novels and a sequel to Saving the Last Dragon. In 2014 Joe completed a 2,185 mile thru-hike of the Appalachian Trail
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanksgiving: Hope in the Time of Uncertainty

  1. Karen says:

    I am thankful to read this today. HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kent Harrop says:

    Joe, for the record I am a ‘recovering pessimist’. Choosing to look for the good and the hopeful (while my natural inclination is to say ‘oh sh*t!’. Some of us are more naturally optimistic due to genes or family of origin. I believe too that being optimistic/hopeful is a choice. Since I was a kid I’ve tried to look for the good, the hopeful…and, more times than not, I think it’s become part of who I am. If this were a twelve step program I’d say: “Hi, may name is Kent and I’m a recovering pessimist.” ….Think there are a lot of us out there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

