Book of Nature

Within my Judeo-Christian tradition is a book unlike any I’ve ever read. The Book of Nature is not to be found on paper but rather a book that is read with all one’s senses. In the early Christian tradition it was believed that the Creator was revealed in the beauty and complexity of nature. Tertullian, a prolific writer and Bishop from Africa 155 – 240 AD wrote: “God is known first through nature and then more particularly through doctrine.” Later in the middle ages, 500 – 1500 AD, this focus on divine revelation through the natural world became known as the Book of Nature. This book was to stand alongside the Bible as a source of equal authority.

Am I the only one for whom this is new information? I grew up in the church and went to seminary for three years to be trained to be a pastor and I don’t recall hearing about the Book of Nature. Granted I may have cut a few classes but I don’t think it’s an accident that I missed this piece of news.

One of the disconnects that many have with Christianity is a negative human-centric focus. Augustine in the 4th century emphasized Original Sin which teaches that we need to be saved from our sinful nature. Set aside for a moment that I think this is a limited theology, Augustine and much of Christian tradition since has kept this focus. There is however more to the Christian tradition, the Book of Nature for example.

The Book of Nature is not a physical book but an invitation to experience the presence of the Creator in the beauty and complexity of creation. Theologians refer to this as pan-en-theism, the belief that the Creator is in the midst of creation. This is found in other religious traditions too. Native American spirituality believes that Spirit lives and is revealed in the natural world. Martin Luther the Catholic monk and reformer in the 14th century echoed this pan-en-theistic belief: ‘in the call of a bird, in the whisper of wind in the grass, we hear little words from God’. Nature then becomes a reflection of that mystery we call God a portal into this sacred mystery.

Since childhood I’ve known this to be true. As a child my church was a nearby wetlands. As a boy I collected frog eggs and turtles, flushed grouse from the thicket, watched the sun stream through the trees… I knew I was standing on holy ground. Nature is a sacred place for many of us, whether we use religious language or not. Nature/creation is a powerful teacher which we are invited to approach with humility, to learn from and do our best to protect for generations to come.

About Kent Harrop

I am bi-coastal...I was raised in New England (Rhode Island) and for twenty years 1994 - 2014 served as pastor of First Baptist Church McMinnville, Oregon. In May 2014 I moved with my wife Tricia back to New England and serve on a team of ministers at the First Baptist Church in Beverly, Massachusetts. I love the beauty and geographic breadth of Oregon and the north shore of Massachusetts. A growing edge for me is the integration of the contemplative and prophetic life. Tricia and I enjoy gardening, camping and kayaking on rivers and ocean. We have two grown daughters who are strong, smart and adventurous. The purpose of the blog is to explore the relationship between faith and the wider culture. The views expressed here are my own.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Book of Nature

  1. cuttyson says:

    While it makes perfect sense and – as you point out – is echoed in other belief systems, I have never heard of the Book of Nature either. Was this part of mainstream Christian theology or some kind of esoteric, alternate worldview?

    Like

    • I believe it was a belief system in place at a time of limited formal written documents, other than the bible and other limited texts. Most of the world was illiterate.

      Like

    • Kent Harrop says:

      My understanding is that the Book of Nature was a common term for experiencing the sacred in the natural world. In that most people were illiterate, farmers and gleaned fuel from the forest, an emphasis on experiencing the Sacred in the natural world made theology real and every day. I think too with the dominance of Augustinian thinking on theology (humanity in need of salvation), that there was a movement away from a nature based theology. This human focus continues to this day and I think misses the more holistic scope of spirituality found in nature.

      Like

Leave a Reply

